Institute of Neuroscience (IONS) - Université catholique de Louvain (UCL)


André Mouraux

Principal investigator (IONS/COSY)

Using non-invasive functional neuroimaging techniques such as electroencephalography (EEG) and functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI), combined with novel techniques to selectively activate specific classes of nociceptive afferents, the research performed by the team of André Mouraux (IONS/COSY) follows two main axes. First, to understand how the human brain processes nociceptive sensory input and how this leads to the perception of pain. Second, to understand the plastic changes in nociceptive pathways that occur after inflammation, injury or sustained nociceptive input that induce peripheral and central sensitization and may underlie the development of chronic pain in humans.

Valéry Legrain

Principal investigator (IONS/COSY)

The main research interest of the team led by Valery Legrain (IONS/COSY) is to understand the cognitive mechanisms modulating the link between nociception and the conscious perception of pain, and the neurobiological substrates of these cognitive mechanisms. Different approaches are used: neurophysiology (event-related brain potentials), cognitive psychology (mental chronometry) and neuropsychology (investigation of patients with sensory-motor or attentional deficits).

Emmanuel Hermans

Principal investigator (IONS/CEMO)

The research group of Prof. Emmanuel Hermans (IONS/CEMO) has a long-standing expertise in the use of animal models to study the neuroinflammation and plastic changes of the central nervous system induced by neurotrauma, and its involvement in the development of neuropathic pain. His laboratory has experience in the production of animal models of neuropathic pain, the techniques used to study the pain behaviour of these animals, and the immune-histological techniques to characterize the glial activation and changes in nociceptive pathways at peripheral, spinal and supra-spinal level.

Anne Berquin

Principal investigator and Clinician-Researcher (IONS/COSY)

Susana Ferrao Santos

​Clinician-Researcher (IONS/NEUR)

Dept. of Neurology, Centre de référence pour l'épilepsie réfractaire, Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc

Riem El Tahry

​Clinician-Researcher (IONS/NEUR)

Dept. of Neurology, Centre de référence pour l'épilepsie réfractaire.

Cliniques univesitaires Saint-Luc.

Arnaud Steyaert

Clinician-Researcher (IONS/NEUR)

Dept. of Anesthesiology, Cliniques univesitaires Saint-Luc.

Léon Plaghki

Professor Emeritus (IONS/COSY)

Please reload